Reno Poet Laureate honored at Nevada Writers Hall of Fame

Reno Poet Laureate Gailmarie Pahmeier

The 29th annual Nevada Writers Hall of Fame event honors Nevada’s finest authors and recognizes emerging writers for their work. This year’s ceremony will take place Wednesday, Nov. 9, 2016, in the Milt Glick Ballroom on the fourth floor of the Joe Crowley Student Union at the University of Nevada, Reno. Since 1988, 54 writers have been selected to be a part of the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame.

This year, the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame will welcome Gailmarie Pahmeier, Reno’s first poet laureate.

Nevada Writers Hall of Fame Award: Gailmarie Pahmeier

Gailmarie Pahmeier has been a Nevadan for nearly 30 years. Pahmeier is considered a “domestic” poet; her work focuses primarily on family and home. Her literary honors include a Witter Bynner Poetry Fellowship, the Silver Pen Award from the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame (1999), and two Artist Fellowships from the Nevada Arts Council.

In 2007, Pahmeier received the Governor’s Award for Excellence in the Arts. She was recently selected as Reno’s first poet laureate, in addition to serving the state as the first Poet in Residence. As part of the residency she participated in a program called Power Up Poetry, an engagement which took her out into the rural counties of Nevada to talk with students about the importance of poetry and story.

Pahmeier grew up in St. Louis, Mo. When she was in grade school, the iconic Gateway Arch was built. Pahmeier took the arch’s slogan as the “gateway to the West” quite literally. Upon graduation from high school, she began heading west, with a stop in the Ozarks where she completed her masters of fine arts degree at the University of Arkansas, then on to Oklahoma before settling in Nevada, where she has lived the majority of her life. She teaches creative writing and contemporary literature courses at the University of Nevada, Reno where she has been honored with the Alan Bible Teaching Excellence Award and the University Distinguished Teacher Award.

Goldberg lived in Las Vegas from 1998-2000, worked as a “Las Vegas CityLife” and “Las Vegas Weekly” book critic from 2005-2015. He now lives in Indio, Calif. with his wife, Wendy Duren, who is also a writer. His next book, a sequel to “Gangsterland,” will be released in fall 2017.

The Silver Pen Award is given to emerging and mid-career writers of promise. The Silver Pen Award was established in 1996.

Hall of Fame Awards

The Nevada Writers Hall of Fame was created to recognize, inspire and encourage excellence among writers in the Silver State. Honorees are selected based on their body of work, critical recognition and a strong connection to Nevada through the themes of their writing or residence in the state. A selection committee of representatives from throughout the state chooses the inductees to the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame and the Silver Pen Award recipients.The names of all the authors who have been inducted into the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame are prominently displayed on a wall of honor in the Leslie Harvey and Robert George Whittemore Tower Entry and Reception Gallery of the Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center at the University of Nevada, Reno. Among the notable inductees into the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame are such legendary authors as Robert Laxalt, Walter Van Tilburg Clark, Mark Twain, Sarah Winnemucca, Dan De Quille, Will James, Waddie Mitchell, Ann Ronald, and William A. Douglass.

Ticket Sales

This year’s reception and silent auction begin at 6 p.m. followed by the program at 7 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 9, 2016. Tickets are available for $40 per person. For more information or to make reservations, contact Breanne Standingwater at 775-682-6022 or

Be first to comment

Please Complete *